Under state law, you must purchase an Illinois auto insurance policy
for any vehicle that you drive. The state can verify that you have
insurance if you get stopped and an officer requests your insurance
card, or you may be requested to provide your insurance information as
part of Illinois' random insurance verification program. In this
program, the state mails out insurance questionnaires to licensed
drivers chosen at random. You must respond to the questionnaire by
providing your insurance information to the state. The state will then
contact your insurance company to verify that your policy is active. If
you don't respond, or if your insurance company does not verify that
you are insured, your license could be suspended. In order to satisfy
Illinois' insurance law, your policy must have the following coverages
- Bodily injury liability to cover up to $20,000 of damage per person
and $40,000 per accident.
- Uninsured motorist coverage, to cover up to $20,000 per person and
$40,000 per accident.
This is the minimum amount of coverage required under Illinois law.
However, if you have minimum coverage and you cause an accident in
which the damages exceed your coverage limits, you are not off the
hook. The injured driver can sue you for the unpaid damages. Therefore,
you may want to purchase additional coverage or coverage with higher
limits. Anyone who's been to the hospital recently can tell you that
medical bills have skyrocketed in recent years. Auto repair costs have
also risen recently, and it's not unusual for damages from a crash to
exceed the minimum coverage limits required by law.